Sleevenotes: May’s vinyl news

Maison book girl

Ash‘s Music Islands (18 May) comes in a limited silver vinyl edition.

Brian Jonestown Massacre has two albums coming out this year – Something Else (1 June) and a self-titled affort (September) – and they preview both with a 7″ ‘Hold That Thought / Drained’ on 18 May.

A 40th anniversary edition of Jilted John‘s True Love Stories is expected to land in early June via Boss Tuneage. First pressing will come on a random colour mix, as well as with a copy of the classic ‘Going Steady’ 7″.

J-pop band Maison book girl release a 7″ single ‘Bath Room – UK version’ on 18 May via Read The Air Records prior to a short run of British dates in May.

16.05 – Birmingham – Hare & Hounds
17.05 – Brighton – East Street Tap (Alternative Escape)
18.05 – Brighton – 8pm @ The Arch (The Great Escape)
19.05 – London – Boston Music Room

Marduk‘s Viktoria hits the streets on 22 June. Their fourteenth studio album, the will be available in a bewildering array of colours across different distributors and territories:

  • clear (200)
  • gold (300)
  • transparent red (100)
  • red (200)
  • silver (300)
  • picture disc (500)
  • transparent ‘sun’ yellow (300)
  • dark green (200)

A white vinyl edition via CM has already sold out. The album will also be available on unlimited black vinyl and a special CD box set with stickers and pins.

The new Father John Misty album God’s Favorite Customer (Bella Union – 1 June) will be available in two different vinyl formats – standard black, and purple with a foiled sleeve.

Pink Floyd‘s Relics – the album that collected many of their Syd Barrett era singles – gets a remastered vinyl edition via Parlophone on 11 May.

Poptone, the new project from Bauhaus’ Kevin Haskins and Daniel Ash, release their self-titled album via Cleopatra on 8 June. The album features the set they recorded for KXLU Radio, including songs they recorded together as Tones On Tail. The album will be available in a 2-LP white vinyl edition.

Boston punks Street Dogs are offering forthcoming album Stand For Something Die For Nothing (Century Media, 22 June) on two vinyl editions – transparent green [200 copies] and white [100 copies] – via Green Hell.

About Douglas Baptie (208 Articles)
Editor at Words & Guitars. Lives in Carlisle, far away from 'that London'.
Contact: Twitter