Violent Femmes schedule We Can Do Anything

violent femmes

Violent Femmes‘ ninth studio album and first full-length collection for more than fifteen years, We Can Do Anything, is scheduled for 4th March via PIAS.

“We’ve always done what we wanted and how we wanted,” says Violent Femmes’ Gordon Gano. “Fundamentally there’s no difference from then until now. It’s a natural continuation.”

The album arrives after last year’s Happy New Year EP, recorded in bassist Brian Ritchie’s adopted home of Hobart, Tasmania as the band prepared for a sold out New Year’s Eve show at Sydney’s Opera House. Much of the material was sourced from Gano’s archive, listening to old cassettes and leafing through old journals in search of suitable songs, ranging from self penned, co-writes and a track ‘What You Really Mean’, written by his sister, Cynthia Gayneau.

Recorded in studios in Brooklyn, Nashville, Los Angeles, Milwaukee and Denver, while on tour during the summer of 2015 and produced by Jeff Hamilton – a longtime member of the Horns of Dilemma, Violent Femmes’ ever-changing troupe of multi-instrumentalist backing musicians – and mixed by the John Agnello (Sonic Youth, Kurt Vile, Dinosaur, Jr.). We Can Do Anything will be accompanied by a worldwide tour including shows in the US, Australia and Europe.


01 – Memory
02 – I Could Be Anything
03 – Issues
04 – Holy Ghost
05 – What You Really Mean
06 – Foothills
07 – Travelling Solves Everything
08 – Big Car
09 – Untrue Love
10 – I’m Not Done

About Douglas Baptie (208 Articles)
Editor at Words & Guitars. Lives in Carlisle, far away from 'that London'.
Contact: Twitter