R.E.M celebrate anniversary of Out Of Time

To mark the 25th anniversary of Out Of Time, R.E.M. have announced a special celebratory edition for 18th November via Concord Bicycle.

A 2 CD Set will include a remastered version of the original album alongside demo versions of every album track, as well as demos for two non-album b-sides and a previously unreleased song. The 3 LP Set will include remastered vinyl versions of the original album and the demos. The 25th Anniversary Deluxe Edition will include 4 discs, featuring the remastered album, demos, recordings from the band’s performance at Mountain Stage in 1991, and a Blu-Ray disc with hi-resolution audio and 5.1 Surround Sound versions of the album, all of the relevant music videos, and the 1991 electronic press kit Time Piece, featuring in-studio footage, exclusive performances and more. All versions will feature extensive liner notes by Annie Zaleski featuring interviews from all four band members and producers Scott Litt and John Keane.

The demos, recorded at John Keane Studio in early 1990 and featured on all versions of the reissue, provide key insight into the band’s creative process: from early instrumental passes to versions of ‘Losing My Religion’ and ‘Texarkana’ with different lyrics, and even a version of Radio Song that features drummer Bill Berry on lead vocals for a verse.

Demo disc tracklisting:

1. Losing My Religion 1 (demo)
2. Near Wild Heaven 1 (demo)
3. Shiny Happy People 1 (demo)
4. Texarkana 1 (demo)
5. Untitled Demo 2
6. Radio – Acoustic (Radio Song 1 demo)
7. Near Wild Heaven 2 (demo)
8. Shiny Happy People 2 (demo)
9. Slow Sad Rocker (Endgame demo)
10. Radio – Band (Radio Song 3 demo)
11. Losing My Religion 2 (demo)
12. Belong (demo)
13. Blackbirds (Half A World Away demo)
14. Texarkana (demo)
15. Country Feedback (demo)
16. Me On Keyboard (Me In Honey demo)
17. Low (demo)
18. 40 Sec. (40 Second Song demo)
19. Fretless 1 (demo)

Live at Mountain Stage disc:

1. Introduction
2. World Leader Pretend
3. Radio Song
4. Fall On Me
4. It’s the End Of The World As We Know It (And I Feel Fine)
5. Half A World Away
6. Belong
7. Love Is All Around
8. Losing My Religion
9. Dallas
10. Radio Song
11. Disturbance At The Heron House
12. Low
13. Sawn Swan H
14. Pop Song 89


Out Of Time – Hi-Resolution Audio
Out Of Time – 5.1 Surround Sound
Radio Song (music video)
Losing My Religion (music video)
Low (music video)
Near Wild Heaven (music video)
Shiny Happy People (music video)
Belong (music video)
Half A World Away (music video)
Country Feedback (music video)
Time Piece

About Douglas Baptie (208 Articles)
Editor at Words & Guitars. Lives in Carlisle, far away from 'that London'.
Contact: Twitter