The Happening: w/e 22 January

Quick updates from The Last Shadow Puppets, Joanna Gruesome, The Good Life and more.

The Last Shadow Puppets

The Last Shadow Puppets (pictured) return with their new album Everything You’ve Come To Expect on 1st April. Alex Turner and Miles Kane reunite with James Ford (production and drums) and Owen Pallett (string arrangements) and are joined by Zachary Dawes (Mini Mansions) on bass.

The album will be available on standard and deluxe CD (featuring a 40 page booklet containing exclusive photography). Vinyl versions of the album are available as standard and deluxe heavyweight vinyl (ltd to one pressing, featuring a 32 page booklet and 7” coloured vinyl featuring ‘Bad Habits’, new exclusive track ‘The Bourne Identity’ and download card) and via digital download.

Laura Gibson releases her second album, Empire Builder, on 1st April via City Slang. She is joined on the album by guitarist/bassist Dave Depper (Death Cab for Cutie, Menomena), drummer/percussionist Dan Hunt (Neko Case), and composer/violinist Peter Broderick. Other contributors include Nate Query of The Decemberists and vocalist Alela Diane. Gibson co-produced the record with John Askew (Neko Case, The Dodos).

She plays Manchester Soup Kitchen and Hoxton Bar and Kitchen on 25th and 26th April respectively.

NY-based musician James Hinton, aka The Range, releases his album Potential via Domino on 25th March. The album is based around “a series of vocal samples that Hinton found in the deep corners of YouTube”. Hinton explains, “I found each person by using a small set of search terms on YouTube. Each song is inextricably linked to the point in time that I came across each video. I endeavoured to tie the songs of Potential together by telling my own story alongside the stories of the people I sampled. Every song tries to acknowledge a sense of vulnerability or difficulty in life, as well as an intense drive to cope with problems in ways that don’t drag you into the abyss.” Watch the trailer for the supporting documentary below:

Grasque, the new album from Choir of Young Believers, is out 19th February via Ghostly International. The Copenhagen-based band will tour Europe this April, playing at Oslo in London on the 8th.

The Good Life, featuring Cursive’s Tim Kasher, return for UK dates for the first time since 2007. The trip follows the release of their new album, Everybody’s Coming Down, which was released via Saddle Creek last August.


16 – Brighton Bleach
17 – Manchester Ruby Lounge
18 – Edinburgh Electric Circus
19 – Nottingham Rock City
20 – London Borderline

Joanna Gruesome play the following dates in March:

18 – Bristol Exchange
19 – DIY Space For London
20 – Brighton Hope and Ruin

Steven James Adams (ex-Broken Family Band/Singing Adams) releases his second solo album Old Magick on 4th March via Fortuna POP!

Check out the video for his track ‘Togetherness’ below:

The Wave Pictures play the following tour dates in support of their new album A Season In Hull (12th February).


30th – London  @ The Union Chapel, Daylight Music from 12pm


17th – Cambridge @ The Portland Arms
18th – Brighton @ Green Door Store
19th – York @ The Crescent
20th – Wakefield @ Unity Works
21st – Newcastle @ The Cumberland Arms
23rd – Glasgow @ The Old Hairdressers
24th – Edinburgh @ Sneaky Pete’s
25th – Manchester @ Night And Day
26th – Nottingham @ Spanky Van Dykes
27th – Chester @ Telfords Warehouse
28th – Cardiff @ The Moon Club
29th – Bristol @ Start The Bus

Aiden Knight plays the following dates in support of his new album Each Other:


25th – Rough Trade West, London, 6pm
26th – Rough Trade Nottingham, 7pm
28th – Rise Bristol, 6pm


+ = with Villagers

7th – Glee Club, Birmingham +
8th – O2 Academy 2, Oxford +
10th – Komedia, Bath +
11th – St John at Hackney Church, London +
12th – St George’s Church, Brighton +
13th – St Mary’s Church, Ashford +

About Douglas Baptie (208 Articles)
Editor at Words & Guitars. Lives in Carlisle, far away from 'that London'.
Contact: Twitter