New Lily & Madeleine album announced

lily and madeleine

Lily & Madeleine have announced the release of a new album, Keep It Together, for 26th February via New West Records.

The album was recorded in Bloomington, Indiana with producer Paul Mahern, who also oversaw Lily & Madeleine’s lauded debut and second albums. The 10-song long-player (tracklisting below) features touring band members Shannon Hayden (cello, mandolin, guitar, Moog) and Kate Siefker (drums, percussion, guitar, bass).

Of the album, Madeleine comments, Working with a closer knit team of just four ladies helped tighten our sound and unify each track into a complete collection. The title of the album is a lyric from the first track ‘Not Gonna,’ which Lily wrote. This simple phrase has a lot of meaning to us: keep your shit together, keep our relationship as sisters together, pressure to keep our image a certain way as young ladies.”

Lily adds, “Along with reflecting on the personal bonds that Madeleine and I both have, I also really wanted to focus more on the bigger picture and write about the experience of being a white woman in America and a college ­age kid in the 21st century. As I attempt to further discover who I am as an individual, the way society wants me to define myself is becoming clearer. It seems to me that young people are the same everywhere: regardless of race, gender, or socioeconomic class. All young adults are in the same boat, trying to figure out what makes us individuals and trying to find our value in society.”


1. Not Gonna
2. For the Weak
3. Westfield
4. Chicago
5. Hourglass
6. Hotel Pool
7. Smoke Tricks
8. Midwest Kid
9. Small Talk
10. Nothing

Pre-order the album now via Pledgemusic.

About Douglas Baptie (208 Articles)
Editor at Words & Guitars. Lives in Carlisle, far away from 'that London'.
Contact: Twitter